Sigfrid Karg-Elert Edition, Vol. 8


Elke Voelker (Organ)
The Steinmeyer Organ at the Christ Church of Mannheim


  • Festmusik from „The Mastersingers of Nuremberg“ C major
  • Sunset A flat major [op.108, 1]
  • Starlight E major [op.108, 2]
  • Elegaic Poem E flat minor [op.108, 3]
  • Voices of the night D flat major [op.142, 1]
  • Valse mignonne E major [op.142, 2]
  • Romantic retrospective view F sharp major [op.142, 3]
  • Harmonies du soir D flat major [op.72, 1]
  • Clair de lune B major [op.72, 1]
  • La nuit D flat major [op.72, 3]
  • Pastel No.1 B major [op.92, 1]
  • Pastel No.2 E minor [op.92, 2]
  • Pastel No.3 F sharp major [op.92, 3]

Playing time: 1:15 (h:m), Booklet: 28p. (English, German)
Order Nr. AE 11001 EAN 4026798110017, Product category: SACD
Release date: 03/05/2015.


We from Aeolus are proud to present one of the most famous late romantic organs of Germany on our new SACD Volume 8 of our edition „Sigfrid Karg-Elert:Ultimate Organ Works“: the G.F.Steinmeyer Organ in the Christ Church in Mannheim, built in 1911. On this new SACD Elke Voelker plays several triptyques under the term of „Impressions“, a genre of characteristic tone pictures, frequently favoured by the composer. The almost unlimited possibilities of tonal colours and nuances of the famous Steinmeyer Organ leave nothing to be desired by the performer… from the most tender Aeoline, over an original celesta stop until the thunderous fortissimo. The composer himself once described the instrument in a letter to a friend as the „Mannheim marvel“… As a matter of course our recording purely restitues the huge original dynamic range of this instrument without using any limiting or compression tools!


Article in ORGAN – Journal für die Orgel 04/15
Article in Musik und Kirche 04/15
Article on
Article in Rhein-Necker-Zeitung, 06.09.2016

Kommentare sind geschlossen